//
you're reading...
New staff

UCLMS new starters

A few new faces around the Medical School….

 

Tor Wright1 Tor Wright, CPP Teaching Co-ordinator

“I started working in the Clinical & Professional Practice Team at the end of February as the CPP Teaching Co-ordinator.  This role involves scheduling the CPP timetable in years 1, 2 and 4 plus collating the relevant teaching resources.  Prior to this I worked at City University London as a timetabling officer for six years.  It’s been a shock to the system coming from a completely centralised organisation to a decentralised one, but I think I’m gradually getting my sea legs.  I’m from Chiswick in West London and live about three streets from where I grew up.”

 

 

Sasha SimpsonSasha SimpsonMSEC Administrator

“I started working at UCL in August 2015 in a new role as the Medical School Education Consultancy (MSEC) Administrator. I am responsible for providing administrative duties across several MSEC projects – mainly with UQU, but also on the Ningbo project, and have more recently been working with the Quality Assurance office. I graduated at Birmingham City University where I studied Bsc (Hons) Health and Well Being: Nutrition Science, and prior to this job role, I worked in buying and merchandising at Mothercare’s head office.”

 

 

Sarah SmithSarah SmithRoyal Free Placements Administrator

“I am the Placements Administrator for the Medical School based at the Royal Free. I coordinate the timetable for the Year 4 Neurology rotation and the Year 5 Paediatrics rotation. I also assist the Royal Free Trust Liaison and Project manager with any Royal Free specific projects that may require assistance.”

 

 

Helen Lewis1Helen Lewis, Quality Assurance Manager

“I joined the medical school in November 2015 as Quality Assurance Manager. My role involves collecting and analysing student feedback to improve the quality of the MBBS programme. Before starting at UCL, I worked for the Royal College of Surgeons, quality assuring surgical training. Outside work, my interests include reading, running and travel.”

 

Trevor WellandResearch Associate

“I began working for the UCL Medical School at the Whittington Undergraduate Centre in June. My role includes organising the Care of the Older Person module at the Whittington, assisting in the organisation of personal tutors and Oxbridge transfer students as well as room bookings, reception duties and the day-to-day running of the Centre. I am a graduate of the University of Southampton where I studied history.”

 

Rowena VineyRowena VineyResearch Associate

“I have recently started as a Research Associate in the Medical School, working on projects on fairness in medical education. Prior to this role I worked at Leeds University Business School on a project examining language and body language use in business pitches. I am interested in qualitative research, in particular to look at the detail of people’s interactions with each other. I’m excited to work in the school, and also to be working back in London where I grew up.”

 

 

Nadir ChowdhuryNadir Chowdhury, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I graduated from UCL Medical School in 2013 and went on to complete my Foundation training in the North East Thames deanery. I joined the UCL Clinical Teaching Fellow team in August 2015. My particular interests lie in widening participation, practical skills teaching and professional development. In my current role as a CTF, I will be involved in teaching clinical skills to medical students across all years and I will also be working on projects involving the Year 5 cohort. In my spare time, I enjoy playing and watching football and love all things related to Arsenal FC!”

 

 

Megan GriffithsMegan Griffiths, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I joined UCL as a CTF in August 2015 shortly after returning from an FY2 abroad in Wellington, New Zealand. This was a nice change of pace from London life after studying at Imperial and doing my FY1 in North West Thames but I am equally excited to be back home and throw myself into some new projects. In my role as a CTF I am working with the Clinical and Professional Practice module leads to develop resources and assessments as well as getting involved in the CPP teaching where I can. I am continuing the work already established with UCL Computer Sciences on a practical prescribing application and will be involved with supporting the PALS projects. In my spare time I like to get involved with outdoor activities and am a keen cyclist (I say keen, not good but definitely enthusiastic if nothing else).”

 

karim KeshwaniKarim Keshwani, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“Having enjoyed a productive year as a CTF between my foundation and core medical training years, I decided to return for another year at ACME, although you could say that I never really left! I was previously involved in a number of undergraduate projects, from preparing interactive small-group and bedside teaching sessions, to writing cases for online modules and supervising student projects. My main interest now, however, lies in postgraduate training and assessment, working with the GMC to design Test of Competence exams, as well as delivering postgraduate courses at ACME. My research for the MSc in Medical Education is based on the GMC project and I continue to work in acute medicine to keep up with the latest on the shop floor!”

 

rumana LaskerRumana Lasker, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I joined the clinical teaching fellow team in August 2015 having completed my foundation training. I graduated from UCLMS in 2013 and couldn’t stay away for too long! My post is brand new and was created between the North Middlesex Hospital and UCL Medical School, with my time split between the two. At the North Middlesex I’m involved with delivering and managing undergraduate teaching, mainly for final years, as well as being involved with the post-graduate curriculum. At UCLMS I’m going to be working on the Person Centre Approach and integrating this into the curriculum. It’s an exciting to post to be in as no one has ever done it before, so I’m free to create my own role with the support of this brilliant CTF team. I’m looking forward to seeing what we can achieve in my year here.”

 

natasha MalikNatasha Malik, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“Having graduated from UCL Medical School I went on to a career in General Practice, and have a background as an Anaesthetic Registrar. I completed a Darzi Fellowship with Health Education North West London last year that allowed me to develop my educational and leadership portfolio. Then the ‘homing beacon’ went off and I joined the Clinical Teaching Fellows team in September 2015 where my remit is postgraduate education. My time is currently spent between UCL work, clinical work as a GP in North West London and working as an Education Lead for the RCGP North West London Faculty.”

 

sarahneedlemanSarah Needleman, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I joined the clinical teaching fellow team in September 2015. I am presently in the final year of training as a Clinical Oncology SPR. I am currently studying for my PG cert in Education. At UCL I am working as the Postgraduate Teaching fellow predominantly working on the Masters Medical Education course. In addition I am working with the Year 5 undergraduates. I am working on a part time basis and when not at work I am a mum to 3 wonderful boisterous boys.”

 

 

nimesh ShahNimesh Shah, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I joined the CTF team in August 2015 after graduating from UCL and completing my foundation programme in the North Central Thames Foundation School. My role is focussed on Years 1-3 students where I assist on assessments, teaching and developing the curriculum. I also am involved with teaching in other parts of the MBBS curriculum and on the Training to Teach course. My main interests in Medical Education are in widening participation and the use of social media in medical education (follow us @ACMEatUCL). I am also studying towards a Postgraduate Certificate in Medical Education with the Royal College of Physicians/UCL. My interests outside medicine are all things tech, music and photography.”

 

Chris ValerioChris Valerio, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I graduated from the University of Edinburgh medical school in 2004. I worked in Leeds and Cambridge before moving to London. I am currently out of programme from the North East Thames respiratory training programme. In a previous job at the Royal Free I took up a teaching role with UCL and received a top teacher award. I was keen to come back to UCL and work in medical education. I became a clinical teaching fellow in October 2015, also enrolling in the RCP postgraduate certificate in medical education. As a teaching fellow I am involved in delivering postgraduate courses and year 4 of the curriculum. My role within the GMC unit of the ACME is to devise assessments of competence, develop and validate new questions for future use across all specialties.”

 

See all (yes there are more) of the Clinical Teaching Fellows on their webpage.

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archived posts

Categories

Tweet about UCLMS news

