//
you're reading...
New staff

UCLMS new starters

A few new faces around the Medical School….

 

Khalil RawatKhalil Rawat (a.k.a. Kal), Clinical Skills Tutor

“I started at the Medical School in October as a Clinical Skills Tutor, after 16 years at UCLH Emergency Department where I was a Charge Nurse and Emergency Nurse Practitioner. I also trained at UCLH many years ago..!”

 

 

 

Hannah CarlinHannah Carlin, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I joined the team in January 2015. I graduated from Oxford University in 2011 and did my Foundation years in North Central Thames, but after completing FY2 decided to expand my horizons by working for a year in New Zealand’s beautiful South Island- a wonderful and different experience which I would highly recommend! As a student and Foundation trainee I participated in various bedside teaching schemes, delivered a course in introductory examination skills and worked as a facilitator for the Royal Free’s interprofessional student simulation training. I was inspired by these experiences to take my interest in Medical Education further with a PGCert and am delighted to be joining the CTF team on my return to the UK. I’ll be mainly working with the GMC team to organise question writing, standard-setting and piloting for the Tests of Competence, but will also be involved with fourth year teaching and assessment, and the Training to Teach course. My eventual next step will be Core Medical Training but as I progress through my career I hope to keep Medical Education as a significant part of my life and work, and the CTF team are an amazing support and inspiration in this respect.”

 

Helen NolanHelen Nolan, Clinical Teaching Fellow

“I joined the UCL Clinical teaching fellows team in Sept 2014. I moved to London to gain further experience in medical education. I had recently completed my GP training in Ireland. As well as working in General practice, I was tutoring in a Graduate Entry Medical School in the University of Limerick (facilitating PBL, Clinical Skills). I thoroughly enjoyed this work & it whetted my appetite to explore medical education further. This post in UCL seemed like an exciting opportunity! I studied medicine in Trinity College Dublin. After intern year, I started my GP training on the Mid-west GP training scheme, which I really enjoyed. I enjoy the variety in general practice – you never know what problem your next patient might come to you with. As GPs we are the first point of contact. We enjoy the privilege of continuity of care & can develop enduring therapeutic relationships with patients & their families. I’m looking forward to exploring the aspects of my new post & working with the rest of the team & the students. I’m also keen to explore London further!”

 

 

Saqib ButtSaqib ButtClinical Teaching Fellow

“After gaining a Neuroscience BSc from King’s College London, I trained at St George’s University of London and completed foundation programme training in the North East Thames Foundation School. Following this I moved to the East of England Deanery for Core Medical Training. During my CMT years, I developed and delivered an “SBA for medical finals” revision programme to medical students throughout the region. This spurred my interest in medical education and led to my joining the Academic Centre for Medical Education as a Clinical Teaching Fellow in August 2014. My primary area of responsibility is to Years 1 & 2 MBBS students, though I am also involved in teaching MBBS students throughout all year groups, as well as postgraduates on the Training To Teach course. I have an interest in Clinical Radiology and am a faculty member of the “Communication skills in radiology” course – a collaborative effort between UCL ACME and the London School of Radiology. We are aiming to roll the course out to all London Clinical Radiology Trainees in in the very near future.”

 

 

Irene Gafson will also join us as a Clinical Teaching Fellow in March – more details on her role will be circulated soon! You can see the full list of CTFs and their work here.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archived posts

Categories

Tweet about UCLMS news

