//
you're reading...
New staff, Uncategorized

Spotlight – Andy Houghton

Assistant Administrator, MBBS Years 1-2

74 Huntley St

Tell me about your role My role is mainly organisingAndy Houghtonassessments for Years 1 and 2, as well as the SSCs (Student Selected Components) and the Introduction and Orientation Module for Year 2 students who are going into Year 3. I’m based in Bloomsbury and work closely with Patrizia, Fahmina and Carol.

What’s your favourite part of your role? Probably interacting with staff and students, especially at OSCEs which are a new inclusion. The students are all quite nervous, so I enjoyed helping make sure they’re all in the right place, registering them and helping them to feel relaxed. It’s also really good fun working with the CTFs!

What do you find challenging in your role? Pretty much everything as I’m so new! There is a lot to learn, and you have to go through a whole year of new things for the full cycle, with deadlines thrown in. It’s good fun though and I enjoy a challenge.

What did you do before coming to UCL? What’s your work history? Before this I was a personal trainer for 3 years – it was something I had always wanted to do as I’ve always had an interest in it. The sales side of it was tough though. Prior to that I’ve worked in the Crown Prosecution Service, the Nursing and Midwifery Council and the Royal College of Physicians, so usually somewhere around the West End. In fact, I used to walk past the Wilkins Building and think to myself that I would love to work at UCL!

I’ve also done quite a bit of travelling which I loved and it had a big impact on me. Favourite place was possibly Tibet.

What was your favourite subject at school? Psychology – my A Level teacher was Jane Brown and she was brilliant. I studied Cognitive Science at Westminster and am still interested in it.

What would your ideal job be (if money was no object) Maybe a racing driver, rock star or astronaut… or more travelling. I watched Romancing the Stone when I was 10 or 11 and just thought it was the coolest thing ever to have adventures in these exotic countries!

What do you like to do outside of work? I love just chilling out with a movie at home – sci-fi, action, comedy… I also listen to music and enjoy going to gigs. My music taste is varied, anything from Beethoven to Tori Amos to Skrillex!

Where is your favourite place to eat / drink / walk in London? Possibly Regent’s Park. I used to work nearby. I can also occasionally be found in the odd Thai restaurant or a bar in Camden.

What 3 things would you take to a desert island? An iPod Touch, a solar charger and some Factor 15.

Do you have a nickname? When I lived in Australia they called me Randall or Drew.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archived posts

Categories

Tweet about UCLMS news

