you're reading...
Awards and achievements

Teaching Fellow Dr Laura-Jane Smith, Finalist in Future Leaders Award

Dr Laura-Jane Smith, Clinical Teaching Fellow at UCL Medical School, is one of 5 high-flying Finalists for this year’s Women in the City Future Leaders Award

Dr Laura-Jane Smith, Future Leader Award Finalist, and Gwen Rhys, Founder of Women in the City

Dr Laura-Jane Smith, Future Leader Award Finalist, and Gwen Rhys, Founder of Women in the City

Launched in 2010, The Future Leaders Award recognises the achievements to date and the leadership potential of fast-track women in the early stages of their career. At a relatively young age, these women are making a contribution beyond their functional, technical or specialist area; are committed to their personal and professional development and have a heightened sense of self-awareness. The Judging Panel, consisting of high profile leaders from a range of disciplines, also assess the strategic networking capability and leadership potential of all candidates.

The winner receives a complimentary place on the well established Women as Leaders Programme run by the highly respected Cranfield University School of Management – a fantastic opportunity.

Professor Jane Dacre, who is a previous winner of the Woman of Achievement in Healthcare Award, recommended LJ for the award and sponsored her application. LJ then beat off fierce competition from women primarily from business and finance industries, to be selected as one of ten candidates who were interveiwed by the Judging Panel. She made it through this additional stage of the selection process to be named one of only 5 Award Finalists.

Finalists 001

Dr Laura-Jane Smith with the other finalists of the Women in the City Future Leaders Award 2013

On receiving the news she was a Finalist, LJ said:

“I’m really excited to have been selected as a finalist. I am so grateful for the support of all my colleagues at UCL Medical School and in the NHS, but particularly Professor Jane Dacre who is a source of constant encouragement and inspiration. The interview process for the award has really challenged me, and whether or not I win I will take forward a new perspective on how to face future challenges in medicine and education. The other finalists are incredibly impressive and it’s been great spending time with them. It’s amazing that, although our professional backgrounds are diverse, the challenges we face are very similar. Fingers crossed for the 12th July!”

The award scheme is sponsored by ICAEW and global HR specialists Penna, with Cranfield School of Management sponsoring the academic prize. The 2013 Winner will be announced at a Celebration Breakfast on 12 July in Trinity House, Tower Hill.  Find out more on the Women in the City pages.

Update: Laura-Jane attended the Finalists Celebration breakfast on 12th July with colleagues including Prof Jane Dacre, Prof Jean McEwan, Dr Alison Sturrock, Dr Clare Wadlow, Dr Jess Bilaney and Dr Daniel Furmedge. Also sharing in her success was Lady Estelle Wolfson, Prof Margaret Ashcroft and her mum, Carol Smith, HR business partner for English Regions at the BBC. The winner of the 2013 Future Leader Award was announced as Imelda O’Neill, Head of Commercial Banking Support, Business and Commercial Banking at RBS.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Archived posts


Tweet about UCLMS news

%d bloggers like this: